Visitant

Rainbow of books You are here.

1. You’re not writing unless you’re writing.

I once worked in sales. My mentor said, “If you’re not talking to a customer about your product, you’re not selling.” The same is true for writing. Researching, outlining, and brainstorming are important, but they are not the same as writing. Put your pen to the paper, your fingers to the keyboard, and write.

2. Write because you enjoy writing.

Flannery O’Conner once said, “Everywhere I go, I’m asked if I think the universities stifle writers. My opinion is that they don’t stifle enough of them.” There are enough writers out there. Don’t do this unless you enjoy it.

3. Say no.

Parents of two-year olds learn this trick: give the child only two options. Do this with your writing and other things that compete for your time. Do you want to be a writer or watch American Idol? Play…

View original post 459 more words

