purplepersuasion

[TWs for suicidal thoughts, suicide methods and poor mental health care experiences]

Last week a relative I haven’t seen in years watched my hypomania vlog and afterward felt moved to “give me some feedback”. I was interested in his thoughts, as I’m still very much a novice at video editing.

It turned out we were at cross-purposes: he actually wanted to offer me “feedback” on my understanding of and response to my bipolar disorder. He seemed to feel, based I think on childhood perceptions of me as “the clever one” of the family, that I was basing my management on what doctors and the authors of books had told me to do. His idea was that I should stop trying to dampen my elated feelings and borderline psychotic thoughts and enjoy and listen to them. I kept trying explain how dangerous my mood states could be for me but found…

View original post 1,813 more words

